Amartya Kumar Sen

Amartya Kumar Sen CH (Bengali : অমর্ত্য কুমার সেন, Ômorto Kumar Shen) (born 3 November 1933) received the 1998 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences for his work on welfare economics. He is currently the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University. He is also a fellow of Trinity […]

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan – Born in 1952, at Chidambaram, Tamilnadu. After his schooling at Vadodara & Colleging at Maharaja Sayajirao University, Vadodara, he moved to USA and obtained Ph.D. in Physics in 1976 at Ohio University. He was awarded Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine in 2007 and Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to him in the […]

Rajendra Kumar

Rajendra Kumar Pachauri – Born on August 20, 1940 at Nainital and educated in Lucknow & Jamalpur. He started his career with Diesel Locomotive Work, Varanasi and had occupied various positions in India and abroad. Govt. of India conferred him with Padam Bhushan in 2001 and Padam Vibhushan in 2008. He shared Nobel Peace Prize […]

Sir Vidiadhar

Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul – Born on August 17, 1932 at Chaguanas, Trinidad. He is a British novelist and essayist of Indo-Trinidadian decent. He is widely considered to be one of the master of modern English prose. He has been awarded numerous literary prizes including the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize (1958), the Somerset Maugham Award […]

Tenzin Gyatzo 6 July 1935 (age 84 years)

Tenzin Gyatzo 6 July 1935 (age 84 years) Tenzin Gyatzo – Born on July 6, 1935 in Tibet, is 14th Dalai Lama, a Buddhist noted public speaker, spiritual leader revered among the people of Tibet. In 1950 the army of People’s Republic of China entered in Tibet, he managed to escape and came to India. In […]

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar – Born on October 19, 1910, in Lahore, Punjab (a Tamil by origin), died on Aug 2, 1995 at Chicago, United Sates. Recipient of National medal for Science 1966 and Padma Vibhushan in 1968, he served as Governor of Maharashtra. The Nobel Prize was awarded in 1983 for his work on “structure & […]

Mother Teresa (26 August 1910 – 5 September 1997)

Mother Teresa (26 August 1910 – 5 September 1997) Mother Teresa (1910-1997) won Nobel Prize for Peace, “Exemplary Charity and Social Service” in the year 1979. She was born in Skopje (Yugoslavia). She founded ‘missionaries of charity’ in Kolkata. She also received Bharat Ratna Award in 1980 and Magsaysay Award in 1962. Other awards to […]

Har Gobind Khorana (9 January 1922 – 9 November 2011)

Har Gobind Khorana (9 January 1922 – 9 November 2011) Har Gobind Khorana – Born on January 9, 1922 in Multan, after completing his education from Punjab University in 1945, he completed his Ph.D. in 1948 from University of Liverpool, where he want on a Govt. of India fellowship. He received Nobel Prize 1968 in […]

Ronald Ross

Sir Ronald Ross – Born on May 13, 1857 in Himalayan valley at Almora and died on September 16, 1932. After his education in England, he joined the Indian Medical Services in 1881. He discovered malarial parasite in Anopheles. sp. of mosquito. Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded to Sir Ronald Ross for his work […]