Archive for the ‘Prime Ministers of India’ category

Morarji Desai

March 17th, 2010

Morarji Ranchhodji Desai (Gujarati: મોરારજી રણછોડજી દેસાઈ) (29 February 1896 – 10 April 1995) was an Indian independence activist and the Prime Minister of India from 1977-79. He was the first Indian Prime Minister who did not belong to the Indian National Congress. He is the only Indian to receive the highest civilian awards from […]

P V Narasimha Rao

March 17th, 2010

Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao (Telugu: పాములపర్తి వెంకట నరసింహారావు) (28 June 1921 – 23 December 2004), who was commonly known as P. V. Narasimha Rao, served as the 10th Prime Minister of the Republic of India.[1] He led one of the most important administrations in India’s modern history, overseeing a major economic transformation and several incidents […]

Pandit Jawahar Lal Nahru

March 17th, 2010

Jawaharlal Nehru (Hindi: जवाहरलाल नेहरू, 14 November 1889–27 May 1964[1]) was an Indian statesman who was the first (and to date the longest-serving) prime minister of India, from 1947 until 1964. A leading figure in the Indian independence movement, Nehru was elected by the Congress Party to assume office as independent India‘s first Prime Minister, […]

Rajiv Gandhi

March 17th, 2010

Rajiv Ratna Gandhi (20 August 1944 – 21 May 1991), the elder son of Indira Gandhi and Feroze Gandhi, was the 7th Prime Minister of India from his mother’s death on 31 October 1984 until his resignation on 2 December 1989 following a general election defeat. He became the youngest Prime Minister of India when […]

Vishwanath Pratap Singh

March 17th, 2010

Vishwanath Pratap Singh (Hindi: विश्वनाथ प्रताप सिंह) (25 June 1931(1931-06-25) – 27 November 2008) was the 8th Prime Minister of the Republic of India and the 41st Raja Bahadur of Manda. Early life He was born in the Rajput Rathod Royal Family of Manda to Raja Bhagwati Prasad Singh of Daiya and was later adopted […]

Under development

January 18th, 2010

This part is under development.